Meet the Team

The Steering Committee of the Temiskaming Rift Valley Aspiring Geopark currently holds representation from its four founding partner organizations.   All committee members are unpaid volunteers, working to provide opportunities to learn about Temiskaming's significant geological heritage, and to promote the Temiskaming area to the global tourism market.  To learn more about the governance of the Temiskaming Rift Valley Aspiring Geopark, Click Here.

Michael Werner

Representative of Hilliardton Marsh

Elizabeth Morland

Representative of
Temiskaming Métis Community Council

Tammy Huard

Representative of
RockWalk Park Inc.

Michael Werner is a map maker by profession and a naturalist by inclination. He holds a degree in Wildlife Biology from the University of Guelph, and is an avid nature photographer. He was a founding director of the Hilliardton Marsh Research and Education Centre and the Elk Lake Eco Resource Centre, and is a local author on natural history subjects.

Elizabeth (Liz) is currently the Indigenous Circles Coordinator at the Temiskaming Native Women’s Support Group.  Originally from  Saanich, British Columbia, she studied Real Estate Appraisal at the University of British Columbia, and Criminology/Business Administration at Simon Fraser University.

Tammy originally hails from Newfoundland and Labrador, and studied Earth Science at Memorial University of Newfoundland.  She is married and now lives in New Liskeard.

Andrée Nault

Representative of

Graham Gambles

Technical Advisor

Patrick Smits

Representative of
Tri-Town and District Chamber of Commerce

Andrée Nault studied at UQAT, University of Quebec at Abitibi-Temiscamingue, and Geology and Paleontology at UQAM, University of Quebec at Montreal.
She is the founder and Director of the Fossilarium in Notre-Dame-du-Nord.

Graham Gambles brings extensive experience in resource management, agriculture, and mine reclamation. He worked for 10 years for the North Eastern Ontario Soil & Crop Improvement Association.  Now "retired", he is presently involved in developing "Haskap" as a local horticultural crop with the New Liskeard Agricultural Research Station. Graham is also the President of RockWalk Park Inc., and has served on the Board of Governors of Northern College.

Bio here

To Be Announced

Representative of
Municipalité régionale de comté de Témiscamingue (MRTC)

To Be Announced

Representative of
Parc national d’Opémican
(Parcs Québec)

This Could be You

Bio here

Bio here

Your bio here

Join Our Team

Any individual or organization wishing to become a member of the Steering Committee (or future Board of Directors) should email Michael Werner, Steering Committee Chair, at